Prepping this Week

Lets start by it’s snowing! Sorry could not resist, I drove into the parking lot of the building that I am living in for the next 3 days only now and drove into a snow storm of white fluffy bits! Dandelions abound and are shedding their seeds today due to the brief warm afternoon period.

I have started packing up everything and moving things in my office/storage area to make room for everything that is not going to go into my new to me Camper/Truck. I thought I might be farther along than I am right now, but alas it is not so. The vehicle has a few minor/ med issues that I was trying to address but the mechanic who works on my Van took one look at the new Camper/Truck and got freaked out. “That is huge, it is too big, I can not lift those tires… etc” So he pointed my up the street to a Guy that has a shop and always has vehicles in and out of it, he said.

Well that guy turned out to be an ex mechanic of heavy duty equipment, and now one thing to another I will be living in the back of a parking lot/barn farm area he rents.  For a small monthly fee, access to a welder and gen-set, also ramps etc, to work on my vehicle while staying there out of the way out of the sight of most anyone. I provide night watch security and get the run of the place. This is my kind of setup with lots of excavators, dozers and Dump Trucks. I can also tell him if I am having a slow week of work and do some work for him. Being handy with mechanical ability, I will be able to work on my vehicle and give him a hand with his stuff as well! So he will help me out in return! Sweet.. I will be moving the Camper/Truck there and working on it slowly by myself to save hundreds of dollars, so I am happy about that.

The Camper/Truck has a built in bunk beds but I might remove the bottom bunk and turn it into a sitting area with a table and storage location and sleep in the top bunk. The top can also hold some cloths bags during the day when I am not sleeping. The other option is to use the top for storage, but sitting up on the bottom bunk is not really comfortable at all. For the time being I will set up a living room area in the back of the truck, where the open truck back is until I make up my mind.

For my long term plans, I would love to make a movable wall into the back area, that way I can go to auctions, buy in bulk and then sell afterwards. Pulling my smaller 4×6 utility trailer behind the 7.3 ltr Diesel engine will be no worries as to the weight and give me some extra room as well.

With the purchase of the camping stove, BBQ small portable, Coleman catalytic heater I will be most comfortable. At Princess Auto, they are advertising Solar Fans for vehicles, that will come in very handy. Once I purchase one of these units, it will be mounted to the roof, and run with it blowing out the exhaust vent in the roof.

I moved in a couple of dressers last night by myself into the back for storage and surface usage, tomorrow will see me moving a larger 2 piece desk into the Camper/Truck to be used as a kitchen area. The back of the desk has a recessed are that will allow the installation of a grey water and clean drinking water holding tanks to make my life easier. The stove will go on a modified table for now, until a more permanent cabinet can be made for it and a propane fridge. The Camper/Truck already has windows and a vent area in the side so that is the kitchen side, it just needs to be remade. One of the previous owners removed the kitchen, now it is all work for me, so lets plan it well. Like the old adage is “measure twice cut once, and plan well”

See you all on the other side next post 🙂

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog post, Survival Prepping

So What do you think?

