Bikes for SHFT

Ok,

so I have mentioned bikes a few times, mine is an older Jeep Bike! Yuppers a Jeep bicycle, and it is heavy old, sturdy and rides not too bad. That all being said, I think I will have to part ways with it. This bike, just does not fit me, it does not matter how I adjust it, I think the frame is the wrong size for me, because me knees kill me even on short trips and this has kept me off of it too long now.

Next week, I will be sneaky and go with it to a bike store and ask them what they think. Then I will start looking for a newer bike from the USED section or Kijiji.ca or yard sales etc. My last bike in BC had front suspension and I can not tell you what a difference that made. The extra wide deep grip with road centre tires,  made a huge difference as well and I loved riding that bike.

I was going to take a pic of the bike but the wind is about 60km hr, with rain so no pics with my cell phone in this weather. Below are a couple of links to some excellent bike pages.

1st this is just such a cool touring bike tribute page I am in awe of some of them and astounded at some others, like the Big Wheel Big how the hell do you ride that for hours at a time?

huge big wheel bike touring France

ok, so how do you get up on this big wheel bike to tour, how do you tour for hours and hours with it??

2nd is a site from a manufacture that has way more different styles of bikes than I ever thought possible!

cool and unexpected bike

pedal ATV Bike, go anywhere you can pedal

Both sites are worth taking a look, both sites have tons of info from people whom bikes are a passion and love affair.

3 Comments

Filed under Blog post, Survival Prepping, Vehicles

3 responses to “Bikes for SHFT

  1. Addendum;
    here is a blog about All Season Bike Touring,
    this fellow found my blog and liked one of the posts, I looked at his blog and am a little astounded by it so far. Wow great content.
    http://allseasonscyclist.com/2012/02/17/shimano-alfine-8-speed-internal-geared-hub/

    Here is a post on Fat Bikes for Snow and Beaches with Sand, this could make an excellent SHFT Bike as well!
    http://allseasonscyclist.com/2012/05/30/surly-pugsley-the-ultimate-beach-cruiser/

    So go and check it out as well.

  2. OK,
    here is another Bike Trailer
    Kamp-Rite Midget Bushtrekka Bicycle Camper Trailer with Oversize Tent Cot
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002KKBT9Y/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&tag=thmiofsp-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B002KKBT9Y

    The Trailer looks well made and the Tent looks well made, since it is an above the ground tent, using the trailer for support, it has pros and cons as well. All in all though looks like a nice little rig.

So What do you think?

