FarmGal & Anita

FarmGal and Anita both have some great posts today and most anytime they make a post as well. So right now I am working on my own posts, while I am doing this why not go and check out their blogs today?

Anita just posted on her blog an interesting review of the LDS / Mormon Long Term Preparedness Manual. You will also find a link to the download page.
http://adventures-in-country-living.blogspot.ca/2012/07/latest-lds-preparedness-manual-free.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed:+AdventuresInCountryLiving+(Adventures+in+Country+Living)
Image

I am checking out the Manual right now and I have to say I like it more than the last one as well. Although I am not a Mormon indeed I am spiritual rather than Church centric, the parables and stories presented are very good reading. The imagery is enough to hold the attention of a child as well (so Carbon, go read it >:)…

Recently in another topic someone was hotly debating the followings of the earlier manual for information, I agreed with them on most points, the points I did not agree with have been updated in this newest volume. It now Lists.. Grains over just wheat!

FarmGal has a great post as well about her Farm and food gathering and preparations, not going to read that as it makes me hungry and her recipe for Stuffed Grape Leaves, uses Goad Cheese and well I rather miss being able to eat cheese. http://livingmydreamlifeonthefarm.wordpress.com/2012/07/08/goat-stuffed-grape-leaves-in-a-red-pepper-sauce-with-greek-yogurt/ For those who are not hungry and full right now, although after seeing her cuisine you might just get hungry again!

4 Comments

Filed under Blog post, Recipe, Survival Prepping

4 responses to “FarmGal & Anita

  1. Yes, I could have provided a direct link to the Manual, then you would miss the post and her blog!

  2. Deb Weyrich-Cody

    Thanks for the link: I’ll be sure to check it out. But why can you not have yogourt? Being partially digested by the milk bacteria (lacto bacilli) most people with lactose intolerance can eat yogourt. Plus goat’s milk is not like cow’s milk either.

    • Hello Deb,
      I do not have Lactose Intolerance, I have a full blown allergy to MILK.
      My allergy is similar to a reaction by a person who is allergic to peanuts.

      To make matters even worse, I fall into the very few with a milk allergy, as I am allergic to all milk produced by mammals, goat, sheep, cow, lizards too probably if we got milk from them.

      Three are some people who can have goat’s milk if they are allergic to regular cow milk, alas I am not one of them.

      • Deb Weyrich-Cody

        Holy crap man, that’s totally scary… I can’t even begin to think about how rough that must be. So, I don’t know if there might be a solution for this or not, but have you ever consulted with a homeopath or an ND? I have a really hard time with absolutes when it comes to the human body… RD’you remember how they(established medical opinion) claimed that once you’d had a stroke or other brain injury that that was it – you were screwed for life; but now that’s been proven as BS and the new attitude is all about neuro-plasticity and the brain’s capacity to relearn/detour around the damaged cells? My Mom has a brain injury and I’ve seen firsthand how things can turn around once the problem’s recognised and rehab’s begun. Not saying it’s easy, but not a life sentence either…

So What do you think?

