Projects Bug Screen

This will be the Annual Bug Screen post.

Below is a close up of a window in the cab of the Ford E 350,

E 350 Ford door with bug screen added

1988 E 350 Ford Door, bug screen inside door with Velcro to attach to the door frame and the bug screen.

attached to the door frame permanently is the soft side of the self stick Velcro. Soft side of obvious reasons.
The Drivers side will be made the same soon, though with one difference. The tape that is around the bug screen will be put on both sides of the screen not just the one side, so it will be folded over. Next it will be field stitched and by that I mean expedient stitching, with a STAPLER! Same as the other soft side of the Velcro on the frame and prickly side of the other Velcro mate on the side of the bug screen.

Love bug screen, one of the best inventions ever!!! 

Last year, I put the bug screen over the top on the outside and used magnets to hold it in place. That way worked not too bad, though I had to re-adjust too many times after opening the driver’s side door.

 

Soon I will post some photos of what I did in the back last year, though the back will be changed shortly and a new system will be in place, a much better system by the way.

1988 E 350 Ford Door, close up showing the bug screen

1988 E 350 Ford Door, close up showing the bug screen, yes it needs a bit of a trim up to make it purdy!

5 Comments

Filed under Blog post, Vehicles

5 responses to “Projects Bug Screen

    • I considered camping in my old Civic wagon, with the seats folded down but thought it would get too warm. So now I have a solution – bug screens. Thanks

      • I have another idea for you as well. That stuff they call “Tool?” the white wispy stuff at weddings and such. It is cheaper than bug screen, you might have some already kicking around.

        Two years ago I did price some of it and it turned out it was cheaper then, though prices do change.

        • Good idea! I think I have some toule around from a sewing project, but I also have some bug screen in a kit from the dollarama. Thanks!

          • The bug screen kit from the Dollerama, is … well..
            The self stick Velcro is good, but the screen is so light you must be careful using it as it will rip and tear if your not careful. Great to use it of course though it will not work for more than 2 years I think.

            Toule.. thanks for the proper spelling and glad you got what I meant by the description. (spelling is still not good for me! )

So What do you think?

