Day 8 Waking Divergent

Day 8 Waking Divergent

Now I am sitting outside of the Big Cat Zoo off the 115 Hwy, yes there is a days gap, was just too tired to update the journal, too tired to even turn the laptop on. If anyone has contacted me back they can wait till tomorrow for my answer.

Made it over to the Big Cat Zoo off the 115 Hwy, I left Zeldy in the Truck this time, she is barking and howling to get out, I told her to stop, she abated more but all the sounds of the wild animals have her on edge. I let every animal I could find out in the area, there are lots of farms here, yesterday and today. I am struggling with some simple moral questions, do I let all these predators out! To keep them in the cages is cruel beyond belief and a certain death sentence. The big cats have turned on the weaker members of their prides.

The Wolves though are sitting here watching me, they are so intelligent I am wondering what they are thinking. All of them went quite loud when I got here, but have quieted down now watching me, waiting, watching me decide what to do. Some I think are wondering what a human and dog will taste like, others are probably hoping I let them out so they can just run away, others, well they are intelligent!

Yesterday Day 7 I released every farm animal I could find in the area, then went to the zoo, threw some feeder rabbits and other animals into the pens of the cats and wolves. Walked around so they could get my scent. My scent, either they can track me better or some part of their thinking brain will equate me with one of their trainers and hopefully if they encounter me, or come across my scent later, they will keep going and not attack.

I will keep some of the dogs that are following us around now. Those dogs were not happy when I threw them into an enclosed cage, they followed me in, I locked the door, it was that easy. They are grateful that I let them out of the kennel up the street, two big Rottweilers, one male and one female, both with sleek dark coats. The other is a large bull mastiff who is a light brown colour. My dog pack just grew, but I think the extra protection from what I am going to do now will be worth it, I hope.

Well here goes nothing, I fed everyone again this morning, my new Dog pack got fresh meat and kibble. Changing the diet to a long term sustainable and healthier diet.

The Wolves were given fresh dog kibble and fresh rabbits. The other large big cats got fresh rabbits and some large hamsters I found. Sorry to the animals but this is reality, in they went squealing. Cats snarling and slashing, Wolves snarling and tearing, the rabbits and hamsters did not have long to worry about the fear at least.

I have waited for another hour so they cats feel fuller, the wolves feel fuller and hopefully just a little bit more relaxed. I spent the time letting all the rest of the caged rabbits and chickens out, first thing, then shoeing them off. There are a lot of dead rabbits and chickens, I threw them into the pens as well, more feeding frenzy. Zeldy got to grab a fresh rabbit, not so sure of her stomach and a dead rabbit. After she had watched through the open cages the goings on at feeding time, when I tossed in a rabbit into an enclosed pen, she went right in. I closed and locked the door without her even paying me any attention. She will be able to hunt and kill on her own now, I am sure of it.

Every gate on the property is opened up now, some of the back fence has been tore down to make another running away area as well for the big predators, hopefully. I have studied the pens and have found that there are protected places for the staff to stand and open up the pens without exposure to the cats, good for me.

Now it is time to get things going! We need the Wolves and Cats to know that the Dogs belong to me and are not lunch, so it is lets go for a walk time with the Dogs. Zeldy and the new pack did the whole sniffing and intro thing with some of the Alpha personality stuff already starting. Before I let the dogs out, Zeldy was given a brushing and played with me first, letting her rub up against me a lot so her scent would be on me. This way the other dogs would know that she was my pack first, in case they had forgotten this fact.

This is turning into a bright sunny and warm day, great day for dogs to integrate into my pack. Lots of treats later which I had given to them first through the door opening into the pen, This is establishing an Alpha pattern and pack leader pattern first as all the dogs are quite Alpha personality breeds. Then I breathed hard, slowed my breath calmed myself opened the door stood in the way and did not let them out.

After all had calmed down, sat good, received a good doggy treat, just like Zeldy was getting on the other side of me I made sure she was sitting as well Then did I move aside and let the new pack out together for their formal meet and greet, doggy style. Thus my new Divergent doggy pack is created, Divergent Waking new normal I think. There was some doggy sniffing and shoving and greetings and growlings and snappings, all I let go and had under control as soon as it happened.

So far so good, I just started walking away and said loudly and in a command voice, “Dogs follow, Dogs Come now” they all did, I was happy, hopefully it would work out for the best, hopefully.

With the doors secure to the handlers area, the dogs are in here with me to reinforce to the cats that they are my pack it is time for the Cats to be released. All are fed enough so that they will not try to attack us through the cages and should run away. Just in case, I have the shotgun loaded with some bird shot as the first two rounds followed by 00 buck for the next shots. Just in case I need to do a loud bang with the shotgun to get them running, then the next for real protection if needed.
Squeal goes the pulleys as I heave too on the ropes, up go the gates to the Cat pens one at a time. The only Big Cat to stop and stare was the huge Goliath of a Tiger. Man that guy is huge, he unlike the others who ran out quite fast, using claws for traction to get extra speed, he sauntered past slowly. When he was standing free of the pen, his huge head swiveled around the yard assessing the situation, his eyes found mine and then the dogs. He growled, long loud and deeply keeping eye contact with us, then turned majestically as he sauntered away.

I let my breath out, did not even know that I was holding onto it as a matter of fact. Looking down I saw all the dogs, standing with fur raised, low growls in their throats, staring after him. Well that went well I said aloud, each dog turned their heads and looked me right in the eyes then back to the ever shrinking Tiger in the distance. Grabbing the stool, I sat down for a while to relax and let him get as far away as he wanted to go.

I have decided, tomorrow we go to the Toronto Zoo, and look up on the web any other zoo or wildlife area, wildlife rescue centres as well. There might be time, though the Toronto Zoo is huge with many acres and many animals there.

(WDJ)Waking Divergent Journal Index Page

Waking Divergent Journal Day 1

Day 2 Waking Divergent Journal

Day 3 Waking Divergent Journal

Day 4 Waking Divergent

added Waking Day 4.5 Writing Exercise

Day 5 Waking Divergent

Day 6 Waking Divergent

Day 8 Waking Divergent

 

More to come soon …. 

14 Comments

Filed under Novella Divergent Waking, Writing

14 responses to “Day 8 Waking Divergent

  1. Pingback: Day 4 Waking Divergent | Wilderness Return

  2. Pingback: Day 3 Waking Divergent Journal | Wilderness Return

  3. Pingback: Day 5 Waking Divergent | Wilderness Return

  4. Pingback: added Waking Day 4.5 Writing Exercise | Wilderness Return

  5. Pingback: Day 6 Waking Divergent | Wilderness Return

  6. Pingback: WDJ Index | Wilderness Return

  7. Lake Lili

    Well written… the challenge with Big Cat World is that I gather that they have had issues with “misplaced” cats a couple of years back…

    • Thanks for the compliment Lili, did you read the series so far or just the on day?
      YES I had forgotten that incident or two! Though to be fair someone else another time lost their Tiger, and the blame was on the Big Cat World at the time.

    • O and Lili,
      happy Mothers Day to you!
      I know how much of a good mother you are, so I hope you have a very nice day !

      • Lake Lili

        Thanks! Monkey and his grandfather aren’t much for remembering those sorts of things, but I got a wonderful nap as a present… given the weather that was a treat.
        I’ve read the whose series and enjoyed it. Its great to read PAW fiction that is Canadian. I have one coming along centered around the CoKL.

  8. Lake Lili

    City of Kawartha Lakes – formerly Victoria County, but now and amalgamated mess centered in Lindsay

    • hhmmm interesting! I have relatives in Lindsay and the area as well as the scammers who live in Fenlon Falls, are you going to nuke them in the story? Just for some dramatic fun ?

  9. dawson67

    Sorry… no nukes… I love FF we used to live 10 miles out of town and it was our service centre – cheapest gas comes from the Ultramar on the north end. Its a great community to live in and Monkey keeps hoping we’ll move back. I can only be grateful that I can buy Kawartha Dairy ice cream over here. Not sure what the Crows put in it but the pound of happiness gained with each cone is worth it.

So What do you think?

