Day 9 part A Waking Divergent

Waking Divergent Journal Day 9 part A

Time 6am, breakfast for the little Divergent Pack all of us chowed down on some tasty treats of Bacon, with them getting some kibble, parts of raw rabbit and some yummy tasty bacon by hand. Training, showing Alpha pack leader, re-enforcing I am the most Alpha of them all.

Me well I am sitting here having some tasty strips of Bacon, some of my Corn Bread mix that I normally turn into a thick fluffy pancake. This morning I put some Vegan brand fruit blend meal replacement powder in the batch, mixed it up and spread some Coconut Oil Spread on top. Wow all I am able to say is Wow what a taste, tempted to make this everyday though it would get boring after a few weeks.. haha.. few weeks. Tasty tasty.

I am washing this all down with a large cup of Tasters Choice Instant while the kettle comes to a boil again so that I will fill up the Water Floating Boater Thermos that does such an incredible job keeping everything so hot all day and warm the next. Best insulated Thermos I have every had actually.

I have decided, next we go to the Bowmanville Zoo which is along the way to the Toronto Zoo, with a quick stop at any farm along the way.

Need to get a bigger trailer in Oshawa, there are two dealers side by side along the way as well as an RV dealer or two along the 401.

Will also pick up a fridge and two freezers fill them with food from the Grocery Stores in the are that I know, so it take less time to get the foods that I am after.

To save some time later on we will be picking up 15 – 20 bags of Dog food today. Later I will be blending it together and then will be adding in fresh veggies and game at their daily feedings so the dogs will get used to their new diets and they can get the gas out of the way now, while we are outside mostly in the next few days. This so I do not have to smell 4 dogs with gas, as they adjust to new diets!

Well now, I hope it goes as smoothly as yesterday afternoon did at the Big Cat World. Last night we holed up in the handlers area, and opened the outer doors using rope, just like the handlers would do it, the variation though I think were the dogs in the handlers areas with me. I needed to protect them from the other predators, they are not top of the food chain, nor are humans, but together we are much closer. All the big cats were first to go out the doors.

The wolves after quieting down, watched; me, the dogs and sniffed the air. Before I opened the cages, I said two words to the wolves and pointed each time.

Friends, while I pointed to myself and the quite nervous dogs,
Go and I pointed to the door.

I waited for everyone to settle down again, opened the door, shouted and pointed to us FRIENDS, pointed and shouted GO. The pack did go, though the Alpha Male and Female pack leaders stopped just outside the door, looked at me, looked at the dogs, sniffed made eye contact then turned and ran after the rest of the pack. Loud howlings were heard carried on the breeze as they tasted their freedom at last.

Well now, were they saying to me, next time you’re the rabbits or was it a Wolf farewell or just getting the scent down for future reasons. I am not sure at all. Watching them run so very fast into the woods, I was wondering if I should keep doing this or just shoot all the rest of the predators in the future!

Next it was the Hyenas, blasted the shotgun a few times to give them a reason to run out of the park as fast as I could let them go. The other exotics like the littler Primates, such as the Capuchin, Spider Monkeys, Ring-tailed Lemurs and Gibbons (I know this as I am writing down the info right from the enclosure info plaques as they were let go)

Lemures did not want to get out of the enclosures, nor did the Gibbons, so I just left all the enclosures open, wired the doors open, so they can come in and out. Not sure if the big carnivores will come back, but at least they have a place to go to get away if possible.

The Birds were easy, open up their enclosures and cages, say go, walk away. It will be up to them to go or not.

Not sure, not sure, not sure! I would like to think I am doing right, doing the right thing, I am so not sure. Maybe some Norse God is laughing at me now, wondering on the weak human who should have gone into the animal pens with a blade and dispatched them all one by one in glorious acts of Valour like some warrior out of stories of antiquity.

Perhaps some Egyptian, Greek or Roman God or some half demented Demi God is smiling saying the future is Hunting and fear while growing up stronger like the old days. Perhaps my Christian God, the Universe is glad I showed mercy, maybe Gia is happy I am helping to restore the balance of nature to her world. Who knows what will be thrown my way next?

Whatever it is, whatever comes my way, from now on I sleep in a secured area firearms and blades close at hand, with a fire going outside and the dogs safe and secured or we will be dinner, just like the rabbits of that I am pretty sure. Maybe the Big Cats have enough of our scent to think friend / trainer or at least not dinner, before they decide attack or stalk us. Perhaps!

The world just got more primitive and I am at it again releasing more huge predators today.

Quick update on the road;
Location Bowmanville Zoo,
Time 9am:

Beforehand I thought, No large predators, so released the small predators first and let the dogs chase them aways away before releasing the other animals and reptiles. Well that was what I thought would happen anyways.

But.. there is always a But isn’t there!
Gee guess what they have Wolves, Tigers, Lions, etc etc, plus some Elephants, plus, plus, plus other herbivores.

What the hell do I do now?

Opened all the stores of food so they more placid animals can eat right from the grains bins and kitchens, while hopefully learning how to wild forage again, before winter sets in.

Here at the Bowmanville Zoo we seem to have mostly frozen or refrigerated meats for the Cats and Wolves and such. Lets feed them, then shoo them off using flash bangs and shotgun blasts. These flash bangs must be Zoo ordinance, since both places have had a couple of boxes of them sitting in the Trainers offices.

Ok, here we go, the big predators were fed, the fences are down, the grain bins are open, let’s get the predators out of here and then release the other animals.

Bang Bang.. and they are off, dogs barking, Cats running, wolves let out first as they can run the farthest and fastest I think, well it is done now.

Letting everyone out all at once now, all the plant eaters, birds, reptiles, mammals and a few I did not know what they were but no sharp teeth so not predators. It was a little pandemonium, though they do not have to contend with the predators yet. The dogs to their credit, did as told and did not hunt, hurt or attack though they did a bit of chasing anybody around that would run, they did.

Look, some are running back into their pens, some are leaving the grounds, some are just standing there, like the Camels and Llamas, they are just looking at the Dogs, kinda smiling like, O_O..

Well no Damage yet to anybody! Zipping around on the Quad, pulling down some more of the back fences, letting others out of their enclosures, this is not a huge zoo but without the Quad, I would be on a bike or running around like a chicken myself.

Horses, Zebras, Llamas and Camels are all sort of together, refusing to say, yes we are similar and friends, but we are closer together for assistance. The funnies are the Donkeys and Exotic Pigs, running around, everyone and everything, at least I can smile a big smile for that little bit of cheer.

Next to release are the Peacocks, Yaks, something called a Capybara, odd-looking fellows they are! Alpaca, Ostriches, Emus whom are not nice at all, maybe that is why they were together!

Well now this is a surprise, Reindeer, lots of Reindeer, nice fencing, nice grounds and tree cover. Back over to the African Savanna side to let out the, O well missed the Pigmy Goats, my they are small, kinda cute and friendly, nice change.

Well now, whom do I let out first the Elephants who are touching nose to nose with the Dogs, who are going nuts, timid, aggressive, inquisitive, low growls and wines all at the same time looking up up up at the huge Mammals, damn funny stuff right there. Well why they are occupied, lets let out these other, long horn weird African plains animals, well just a little charge at me through the fence, then out wit them.

Wish this quad had a plow, then I could just knock the fences down, would be simpler as well as faster to boot.

Elephants and Dogs, funny combination though they seem to be getting along now, even the female that is off by herself, she seems to be liking the attention of the dogs who run over to her, sniff noses then run back barking playfully to the other Elephants.

Wonder why she is off by herself, the others do not ignore her, nor does she ignore them, but she just stays away, over there, by herself. Hopefully she will be safe and OK after I let out the other Big Predators tomorrow, hopefully she will stand a chance on her own.

Note to self – Reptile Store on other side of Bowmanville, quick stop and release.

What I am thinking, run between, feeding and releasing all 3 at the same time…
Bowmanville, Toronto and African Lion Safari … NO.. that is too much, how about let them all out here today, go to the T.O. zoo then try to get to the African Safari, camp there overnight, go back to T.O.  zoo in morning, release everything else as the big predators should be gone by then?

Note to self – Reptile Store on other side of Bowmanville, quick stop and release. Wait .. I already said that to myself. Well it must be important then.

Ok, time to let the Gibbons and Baboons out now, been waiting as the Baboons can be nasty from what I remember of the African Lion Safari a few years ago…

What was that sound,
breathing, heavy breathing,  is there one of my dogs behind me, though that breathing sounds very different. Something is wrong, I feel … the little hairs on my neck, what was that rustling. What, MOVE..

Dive, roll, something sailed right passed me, O so very close,
roll, there some cover,
Massad Load, pull 10mm from shoulder holster under left arm, with other hand that is now done pushing me up from the ground into a crouching, semi kneeling position,
grab the slide back to the rear of the 10mm, left hand over right hand, double grip, steady breathing, locate.. safety off,

eyes golden yellow staring out back at me, loud growlings, face crunched up in furry, fangs showing, swivel gun left, just a bit more, remember training, slow breathing,
get ready to squeeze trigger, almost there, big cat, animal face so close now, calm, stay Calm almost close enough, cat lunging, snarling almost at gun barrel, squeeze now
steady aim, steady,,, squeeze once – boom …

… to be continued ….


all pages and writings copyright @ WildernessReturn – Wild_E productions 

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Novella Divergent Waking, Writing

3 responses to “Day 9 part A Waking Divergent

  1. …………… okay, now I can breathe.
    Great story – keep ’em coming!

  2. Pingback: WDJ Index | Wilderness Return

So What do you think?

