Waking Divergent Journal Ch 11 Road to Africa

Quick update;
Left the 401 North on the DVP, West on the 407, back to the 401 as it intersects with the 407 before it heads off towards Hamilton.

Time is: O my Lord it is late and I am exhausted.
Location African Lion Safari
Situation, computer and Cell Phone batteries nearly dead as they became unplugged today during the exertions.

The journey was uneventful right up to about 2 miles from the Zoo that is called “African Lion Safari” Battery is at 40% so enough time for a very quick update, then I will sleep, this will recharge and both will be back at it tomorrow. Me to do the deeds and the Laptop to record what I can remember during the day and at the end of the day. Therapy as I have found my mind slipping somewhat, from the illness and from the madness that I see lurking in the corners of my mind as my little human brain tries to reason this out and make since out of the Divergent Reality that I find myself in now. This Journal will be my gauge and pathway moving on.

About 2 miles out there is a small intersection insignificant really but important as the gas station there looks to have blown up! Who knows what kind of spark set it off or maybe a car or some electrical spike was the trigger?

The explosion took out the power lines in 2 directions and one was towards the African Lion Safari. Some of the lines where still sparking on a couple of poles that were laying across the street, blocking my access onwards.

Of the many options I thought of, it dawned on me just to do the simplest option; since going around would be too time consuming, trying to drive around the poles themselves was not possible, my answer was simple. I used the chainsaw, cut the poles themselves, hooked on the winch and moved them 3/4s of the way across the roadway allowing easy passage through.

I had let the dogs out for a bit of a stretch and play time while I grabbed the chainsaw, winch and moved the poles. No problems easy task all went well. All went well that is until the dogs stopped playing almost at once, Zeldy was the first to stop lower her head and start growling, taking up that ready stance that indicates a threat of some kind was close.

Within a moment all the dogs where growling, stances ready to spring, heads lowered swinging left and right noses scenting the air searching for the target or targets. I am sure they knew what the threat was though having a somewhat stuffy nose, I merely took up a combat stance, eased the safety strap on my K-bar and the safety strap on the .357 Magnum Ruger Blackhawk in its holster.

Now from a combat point of view, I would have preferences for an auto loader, but dealing with animals and large predators, the simplicity and accuracy of the revolvers were preferential while on the road. In the Zoo itself, I slip on a shoulder holster with one the auto loaders, preferably the .45cal or the 10mm.

Anyways I digress, The attack was so fast we barely had time to react, barely had time to survive. Lions might be king of the Jungle or Savannas, the Tiger though is Emperor of Hit and Run tactics or Guerrilla Warfare! Even sitting here now, looking back on what happened even the dogs did not know what direction the Tiger attacked from, with lightning speed, gnashing teeth and slashing claws.

The only thing I saw was blurred stripes as it moved past me, knocking me so that I would fall down. My combat stance and many hours of practise years ago on the ranges and drills repeated over and over in the military though, had me spinning left, spinning in a full 360 deg circle, pulling my revolver with my right hand and my combat knife with my left.

Dropping to my right knee, my left hand swung upwards matching the swing of my right hand with the revolver. My combat stance to steady the revolver, left hand supporting the revolver, blade facing to my left in the reverse grip fighting position.

Quickly bring up the revolver sights, aligning on the orange and black striped primal attacker. The attacker who was past me, swiping into MY Dogs, boom and flash of light, cordite smoke blowing sideways from the cylinder, thumb moving back up to the hammer, pulling down again. Trigger finger this time gentler, breathing ragged, breath blowing out, steady the hands again, gently make it count. Aim through the sights, pulling the target closer to me, back of the massive head, just below the left ear, Boom!

Blood splattering, Tiger head lurching, forward and downwards, body lowering, thumb back up the hammer, breathing more ragged, re-shoot,

Boom, Tiger’s head swinging left now, eye looking at me, searching for me, blood spattering before the ear now, close enough I see the hole from 25ft, so close! Tiger dropping, body momentum still moving forward, dogs now fully engaged, attacking, snarling, jaws snapping, teeth tearing into the throat and shoulders now.

I rose, slowly handgun still aimed at the head, not wanting to fire again yet as there were dog bodies all over the enemy, the primal hunter, down now, still breathing and both of us now ragged breathing, blowing hard, trying to gain the upper hand. Dogs move, I bellow, Zeldy and Browny still in the way, MOVE I bellow, The Rotty’s, moved around and to the back, Browny staggering farther left, Zeldy still in the way, MOVE again I bellow, she finally looks at me, frothing at the mouth, blood spilling out, white foam, but she moved.

Now only 5 ft away, Boom again, into the head. Down, never to rise again, what a huge beast, massive 7 ft long body, wow. From now on .44 magnum for me on the hip and 10mm in the shoulder holster full time.

Next came the first aid to Brownie, 4 large slashes down the side of his body, deep gashes which I cleaned out with Hydrogen Peroxide, applied polysporin, some larger bandages and wrapped dressing all the war around, 3 times in order to keep the dressings in place. Need to check that before going to bed. Need to find Anti-biotics soon and apply some directly as well as in the food for a while. Dogs are hearty but they do need helping out as well.

As you surmised dear future reader, the power was out at the African Lion Safari, most of the big predators were gone, some still hanging around looking for an easy meal. Chased them off with some shotgun blasts, some air horns and a Flashbang just for good luck.

Time to throw some feed down for the other animals and let the birds out and free them. In the morning, animal release for the others, including the Rhino’s, Hippo’s and Elephants.

Damn gotta keep chasing the Baboons off as well, they are pesky and fearless!

That’s all for tonight. Another update tomorrow, battery at 10% now, time to go to bed and it can start recharging.

Come on dogs it is almost midnight, bedtime! The female Rotty lifts her head and looks at me. I say again, come on dogs it is almost midnight, she wines a big now looking at me.

Midnight I say, She is wagging her little stump of a tail, and comes right over to me for a hug and a rub..

Well, Midnight is your name, she seems happy now, done last name;
Zeldy, Browny, Crunch and Midnight !

1 Comment

Filed under Novella Divergent Waking, Writing

One response to “Waking Divergent Journal Ch 11 Road to Africa

  1. Pingback: WDJ Waking Divergent Journal Index | Wilderness Return

So What do you think?

