Waking Divergent Journal Ch 12 Fires and Gorillas

Pulled up on a Ridge, stopped by the view that overlooks a part of the African Lion Safari, also visible in the distance is part of the 401, part of the 403 south, part of the Toronto Skyline and some of the lands West and North West.

Since the view was sudden and startling, it is quick update time.
My plans are altered by the sudden views and realization that my parents home might not survive too much longer. Since they are not answering, email, phones I have assumed that they are like everyone else, no more!

Reverse order Journal right now;
the view is most startling and if there had been time, perhaps I would have come to the conclusion or pre-thinking of what I am now witness too!

Fires! Fires in the distance in every direction, as far as I can see there are Fires! Some of the woods are ablaze though mostly it is the houses and buildings that burn. Perhaps it was power surges, or things plugged in or lightning strikes, or gas explosions, who knows what it was.

Now my location is only 30 minutes to my parents so a quick run over there, take a look, holler out Hellooooooo, though probably will be hollering in vain! There are some keepsakes and memento’s that should be grabbed now since we are so close. Some old photos, some paintings some trinkets to remember my family by.

Need to write out some long-term planning thoughts and ideas.
– food long-term
– living location for long-term
– travelling
– equipment for long-term
– fuel for long-term
– searching for others that survived? Continuation?
– long-term feasibility of batteries, power, communications, laptops, computers, printers, information, books, magazines, some DVD’s – Training and relaxation, music (NO RAP or Opera.. same bad words in front of nice music)
– Deal with loneliness, lack of someone to talk too
– WEATHER !!!!
– print out info, put it in binders
– transfer Journal to book format
– HEALTH -me – Dogs – other animals??
– EMP – Solar Flares & Nuclear explosions (build a Faraday Cage, large and small! )
– MAPS
– add into list more Propane

– DAY OFF need one or twooooo—- so exhausted! Well tomorrow will be a mostly day off! Then the following day will be a full day off for us. The dogs are tired as well, Brownie needs some bandages again and some more antibiotics, the others are looking worn out and ragged as well.

– —- more, expand list, create new chapter just for list?? put into spreadsheet???
– tomorrow, think on this stuff tomorrow, today is not yet over.

Since letting out animals and Zoo visits are in the last stages of work, there has just been too much time gone by now so survival rates will be none existent. The only sidetracks for animals now will be to open up fields and pastures where I see that some animals are still standing and grazing as I drive by.

We left the African Lion Safari Park just a few minutes ago, climbed the ridge in the Viking with the Toy Hauler and beheld the spectacle of what I can only describe as a ring of fire. The breeze is a gentle one coming in from the Northwest and the least amount of fires in that direction, so that is probably why the air is not filled with smoke.

GET a mask!! Get a mask or I will on the ground not breathing be, alone. There will be choking from the fumes as well as the smoke and my newly formed Asthma will take over in a bad way. The Toy Hauler Camper is equipped with an air conditioner that runs on propane, 12 v and 110 v, so maybe the dogs can stay in there if the smoke is too much, I will be wearing a mask and do what needs doing.
add into list more Propane

Familiarity breed speed, this time the release of all the animals, reptiles, birds and Bugs (some great big spiders and such!!!!) was much faster. Cutting corners, knowing the time is limited as well as needing to be back to feed the Primates made me speed through the whole process.

Things of note:
Baboons are like out of control teenagers! Hooligans, only the flashes of the shotgun blasts and the flash bangs keep them back. Even the dogs retreated very close to me as the are so outnumbered by that band of hooligans. Luckily for the Viking, I just used one of the beat up African Lion Safari pickup trucks to zip around in. Did this for a few reasons and one of them was remembering the incident with the Rhino back at the Toronto Zoo!

Rhinos here seem more used to being moved around and put into a direction that the handlers wanted I guess, as the truck survived, even though one of the huge black Rhinos spun around and dinged up the rear tailgate area some more, then it shuffled off, looking pleased.

Last thing on the list was open up the Elephant areas. After opening up the Elephant coral so that they could move around the park, I was composing a new message from the tape recorder that has been feeding into the CB and Ham radios. As I played back the message that was recorded at the Toronto Zoo, the Elephants all started trumpeting, shuffling and charged about 10ft closer to me.

Well, I am not afraid to tell you that we all pooped a little at that, me the dogs all of us jumped back in startlement and wonder! One minute the Elephant Herd was peaceful and grazing quietly, moving slowly along their path to the water, stopping at the odd tree for some fresh leaves, the next minute, wow! All the elephants trumpeted, formed an aggressive line moving towards us, the babies in the rear with another elephant. All ears turned towards us, heads lowered a bit, trunks swinging too and fro, lifting sod, rocks, sticks anything close and questing in our direction. Tons of angry or startled massive mammals!

What the heck just happened? Looking behind I only saw the dogs, heads lowered, eyes wide, teeth bared and growling but not moving, nothing else in view. What triggered that display of aggression or unrest? Was it the tape recordings? There was nothing else in my hand, I was listening too…. a message. Think, what else was on the recording animal sounds in the background and possibly Elephants calling to each other?

So I dared, I lifted the tape recorder up, showed it to the elephants, moved it around, took my other hand and lifted one finger up to press play. At first the only sound I heard was my voice with the recorded message, then animals in the background and Elephant Calls!!! I moved the recorder higher, moving it to my right, not moving fast just moving cautiously, all eyes on me now, Dogs and Elephants. I turned off the recorder, as the elephants reacted, though not as aggressively as a moment ago. Breath, let out a long ragged breath that I did not even know I was holding in. This herd of about 12 would trample us to nothings in the dirt if they wanted too.

Slowly I moved to a close picnic table, put the recorder on it and backed up to the pickup and dogs. The large Matriarch moved forward towards the picnic table along with 3 or 4 of the others, we retreated to the pickup, I ordered the dogs into the back of the truck bed. All of them jumped up, no complaints or hesitations, they were a little weirded out as well I think.

She lifted her trunk and eyes, searching in the distance, searching, question, eyes, kept going back to the little recorder, it was not turned on, but she was intent on a closer investigation for sure.

That was when I decided our time was done and headed back out the open gates to our moving home, the Viking and the Toy Hauler Camper, maybe I should just call the Camper,, The Toy! Not sure what happened to the tape recorder and well there are plenty around now to be picked up, but not that one!

Now your up to date, off to my Parents house in the Kitchener / Cambridge area which is just 30 minutes away, pick up some memories, then off to create more memories on our own I guess.

Another hour then on the way back to the Primates, Gorillas and Orangutans.

all rights reserved Wild_E productions
send a message if interest in publishing these works

1 Comment

Filed under Novella Divergent Waking, Writing

One response to “Waking Divergent Journal Ch 12 Fires and Gorillas

  1. Pingback: WDJ Waking Divergent Journal Index | Wilderness Return

So What do you think?

